Close this search box.

Disaster Assistance Extended to Another Flood-Impacted Community in Southern Queensland

Disaster assistance has been extended to the Bulloo local government area following the heavy rainfall and flash flooding that drenched Southern Queensland in late March.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud said that while the rain may have gone, councils were still counting the cost of last month’s severe weather event.

“This latest update sees every council area along the Queensland and New South Wales border activated for disaster assistance, giving you a real sense of the scale of this event,” Minister Littleproud said.

“Roads were closed across Bulloo Shire during the floods, isolating residents and restricting movement in the community.

“The Bulloo River crossing at Cunnamulla-Thargomindah Road was flooded with over 600mm water over the bridge.

“These funds will support Bulloo Shire Council to repair essential public infrastructure, such as roads and bridges, clear drains, and clean up the debris left behind by the flood waters.”

Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Mark Ryan said the flooding had caused significant damage to local roads, which was only discovered after the flood waters had receded.

“The damage to some of these local roads is severe, causing major headaches for local people,” Minister Ryan said.

“This funding will help get these roads repaired and hopefully minimise any further disruption to residents in the affected areas.

“The Queensland and Commonwealth governments will continue to provide assistance to these communities and work with local councils to ensure their recovery is completed as quickly as possible.”

DRFA assistance is now available in 12 local government areas in Southern Queensland in response to this severe weather event: Balonne, Barcoo, Bulloo, Gold Coast, Goondiwindi, Lockyer Valley, Logan City, Moreton Bay, Paroo, Quilpie, Scenic Rim and Southern Downs.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at and the Queensland Reconstruction Authority’s website at


More Media

Yelarbon’s Charlotte Baker receives the 2024 NCWQ Hon. David Littleproud Bursary

An aspiring economics student is the latest young woman to benefit from a $1000 bursary offered by Leader of The […]

The Hon David Littleproud MP – Leader of the Nationals – Address to LNP convention

Transcript Well thanks Senator Susan, it’s great to have you in our party room and a great addition. Can I […]