David Littlerpoud MP David Littlerpoud

Disaster assistance extended to Balonne Shire Council

December 22, 2021

Disaster assistance has now been extended to Balonne Shire Council following the recent floods in Central and Western Queensland.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Federal Member for Maranoa, David Littleproud said major flooding from several local catchments during the severe weather event resulted in widespread road closures and damage throughout the region.

“The Balonne Shire Council can now be reimbursed through the DRFA for their clean-up and reconstruction costs,” Mr Littleproud said.

“The effects of this event are still being realised. This disaster assistance is an important step as we rebuild and recover.”

This extension of the DRFA brings the total number of local government areas receiving disaster assistance to 20. These LGAs are: Banana, Balonne, Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Boulia, Bundaberg, Central Highlands, Diamantina, Goondiwindi, Flinders, Lockyer Valley, Longreach, Maranoa, Murweh, Scenic Rim, South Burnett, Southern Downs, Toowoomba and Western Downs.