David Littlerpoud MP David Littlerpoud

Disaster assistance extended to South Burnett, Southern Downs and Toowoomba

March 1, 2022

Maranoa MP David Littleproud said South Burnett, Southern Downs and Toowoomba residents impacted by flooding are eligible for a number of government financial support payments of at least $1000 per person.

“Under the Disaster Recovery Payment, a lump-sum payment of $1000 per adult and $400 per child is available for those adversely impacted by flooding and I encourage affected residents to apply for this support,” Mr Littleproud said.

“The Disaster Recovery Payment is a one-off, non-means tested payment and is available to eligible people in those affected local government areas who have suffered a significant loss, including a severely damaged or destroyed home or serious injury.”

Also available is the Disaster Recovery Allowance, which is an ongoing payment lasting up to 13 weeks for those whose income has been directly affected by flooding.

“This payment is available for small business, employees and farmers who have been working in areas affected by flooding,” Mr Littleproud said.

Residents who live in the Local Government Areas (LGAs) of the South Burnett, Southern Downs and Toowoomba regions of the Maranoa Federal Electorate are eligible for the Disaster Recovery Payment and the Disaster Recovery Allowance. The easiest and quickest way to claim the Disaster Recovery Payment or the Disaster Recovery Allowance is online through myGov. If people require support to claim, they can call the Australian Government Emergency Information Line on 180 22 66.

To help local councils recover, the Disaster Recovery Funding Assistance (DRFA) has also been enacted to help with clean-up operations and to repair local roads and other vital public infrastructure damaged by floodwater.

“DRFA payments is just one way we can support local communities through this disaster and we’re ready to stand shoulder-to-shoulder with local councils on the road to recovery,” Mr Littleproud said.

The South Burnett, Southern Downs and Toowoomba LGAs have so far been activated for the DRFA payments in the Maranoa electorate.